The 3 Rooms of Melancholia / Melancholian 3 huonetta
Pirjo Honkasalo, Finland, 2004.
Directed by: Pirjo Honkasalo
Script: Pirjo Honkasalo
Producer: Kristiina Pervilä, Pirjo Honkasalo
Production company: Millenium Film Oy
Cinematography: Pirjo Honkasalo
Editing: Niels Pagh Andersen, Pirjo Honkasalo
Music: Sanna Salmenkallio
Format: video
Running time: 106'

The Chechen war is the setting for the film. The film shows Russian children on Kronstadt, an island that lies before St. Petersburg. There, president Putin has established by decree a military school for orphaned children. They are being trained in the Kronstadt Cadet Academy as child soldiers. The imagined enemy is the Chechens. The film also shows Chechen children in Chechnya and Ingushetia, in the family of Xhadizhat Gataeva, which now consists of 63 orphans for whom Xhadizhat is taking care. She rescued them from the ruins of the devastated Grozny.

Awards and Festivals
International Documentary Film Festival Amsterdam 2004 - Amnesty International - DOEN Award
Venice Film Festival 2004 - EIUC Award - Special Mention, Human Rights Film Network Award, Lina Mangiacapre Award
Full Frame Documentary Film Festival 2005 - Seeds of War Award
Jussi Awards 2005 - Best Documentary Film, Best Music
Tampere Film Festival 2005 - Main Prize, Finnish Short Film Over 30 minutes
Thessaloniki Documentary Festival 2005 - FIPRESCI Prize
Yerevan International Film Festival 2005 - Grand Prix - Golden Apricot, Best Documentary Film

Directors Biography
Pirjo Honkasalo, born 1947, is a Finnish film-maker. Although she has written and directed over a dozen films, Honkasalo is also an accomplished cinematographer, film editor, producer and actor. For her work in the film industry, Honkasalo has been recognized by winning 19 major film awards while being nominated for many more. She directed several films in the 1970s and 80s with Pekka Lehto (including Da Capo, 1985). In the 1990s, she made the so-called Trilogy of the Sacred and the Evil, consisting of the films Mysterion (1991), Tanjuska and the 7 Devils (Tanjuska ja 7 perkelettä, 1993) and Atman (1996). In 2004 she made the multiple award-winning The 3 Rooms of Melancholia.